Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Dirty Girl Cooking

I’m not always dirty.  In fact, when if comes to eating, I like to keep it clean.  I do my best to limit processed foods in my diet, but it hard when you live a hectic life.  One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to be better about packing a brown bag dinner on the nights I had to work late.  Working through dinner several nights of the week and having to grab something on my way into work that would still be good after a few hours in my fridge, I found myself inadvertently following the Jared diet.  You know you have a Subway problem when the entire staff knows your sandwich order down to memorizing the correct veggie sequence.  Things needed to change.  So I pulled out my daughter’s Lion King lunch bag and got packing.  For most people, packing a bag lunch isn’t a big deal.  But throw in that I don’t have a microwave at work and that I’m a vegetarian, and well, there are just so many nights of pb&j and yogurt that a person can take.  Plus, I like to eat.  A salad is just a side dish in my world.  I want some food with substance.

It helps that I love to cook.  I’m always experimenting with new recipes.  Thanks to my Pinterest and Allrecipes.com addictions, I have enough new recipes to try to get me through the next decade.  Today I was stuck in a hockey rink for 8.5 hours and needed some dinner options that didn’t fall into the imitation cheese food group.  I decided to try out a peanut sauce recipe that a friend of mine shared on her blog with some shredded carrots and scallions and  tossed with fettucini noodles and with a side of Szechuan green beans.  The verdict, DELISH!!  Both recipes were quick to prepare, a huge bonus when you’re always on the run like me.  Only changes I would make would be to add a little more hot sauce to the peanut sauce for a little extra kick.  I like it spicy!

For the Peanut Sauce recipe check out Contentedly Crunchy‘s blog.  She’s got a lot of great, healthy recipes on there that I can’t wait to try out.

Here’s the recipe for the Szechuan Green Beans borrowed from fellow running mom Sarah.

Szechuan Green Beans

1.5 lbs of fresh green beans (ends trimmed off)

3 TBSP soy sauce

1 TBSP toasted sesame oil

1 TBSP mirin*

1 TSP sugar/sweetener

2 TBSP peanut oil

3 shallots, minced

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 TSP fresh minced ginger

3 TBSP scallions

1 TSP red pepper flakes

1.) steam beans about 5 minutes. rinse under cold water, drain, and set aside

2.) In a small bowl, combine tamari (soy sauce), sesame oil, mirin, and sugar. Set aside

3.) Heat peanut oil in large skillet, and, and by a handful at a time, stir fry green beans for 30 seconds. Use a slotted spoon to put the beans on a platter after stir fried.

4.) Once green beans are all cooked, add the rest of the peanut oil, shallots, ginger, garlic, scallions and red pepper to the skillet. Stir fry for 10 seconds. Return the beans to skillet, and add the soy sauce mixture. Stir fry until all coated and hot.

5.) Return to platter, and sprinkle with sesame seeds. YUM!

*Mirin is a Japanese cooking wine made from rice, similar to sake, but with a lower alcohol content.  I was able to find some in the Asian food section of one of the local grocery stores, but it did take a little searching to find one that stocked it.

3 responses

  1. AMEN! I love your food philosophy.

    -Alexandra

    2012/01/15 at 7:55 pm

  2. Glad you liked the peanut sauce! Definitely try the white bean dip- and you might want to add a little extra hot sauce to that, too!

    2012/01/17 at 2:04 pm

    • I have everything I need to make the bean dip, so hopefully I’ll have time tomorrow to make it for Thursday and Friday’s dinners. I’ll post my review over the weekend.

      2012/01/17 at 4:22 pm

Leave a Reply

