Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Vegetarian “Beef” Stir Fry

You know the story.  Working mom rushes home.  She’s starving.  Her family is starving.  The cat has the dog cornered downstairs.  The dog is too scared of the cat to make her way upstairs so she can go outside and ends up peeing on the carpet.  Mom’s looking for something she can whip up quick while playing ringmaster in her own little 3 ring circus that she won’t feel guilty serving to her family.  Sound familiar?  This is pretty much the scene at my house on a nightly basis.  I have come to terms with the fact that I’ll never be that organized super mom that has the whole month’s worth of meals planned out.  It’s not so much that I lack organization skills (I must have some since I’ve survived juggling an all over the place work schedule, life with a preschooler, and race training this long), but how am I supposed to know on Sunday what I’m going to be craving on Wednesday.  Yes, this makes for a lot of impromptu runs to the grocery store.  But had it not been for tonight’s shopping trip, I probably never would have found the cranberry cinnamon chevre that I’m excited to eat for tomorrow night’s meal.  I digress…  So tonight, stir fry sounded really good.  To make room in my budget for all the trail races I want to run this summer, take out was a no go (plus I wanted to keep it all healthified).  I had some meat free “beef” tips sitting in my freezer that I picked up on sale last week, some baby bella mushrooms in my fridge, all the makings for a killer stir fry sauce, and quinoa.  All I needed were some frozen stir fry veggies, and I’d be all set.  Result:  A delicious, healthy version of stir fry beef and veggies that was vegetarian friendly and whipped up in about 20 minutes.  Even the cat loved it.  So here’s my recipe.  You can sub some real meat or marinated tofu for the meatless beef tips.  Throw in whatever veggies you have on hand.  I was feeling lazy, so frozen stir fry mix it was.  In addition to the frozen veggies, I added some sliced baby bella mushrooms.

Vegetarian "Beef" and Vegetable Stir Fry

Vegetarian “Beef” and Vegetable Stir Fry with Quinoa Serves about 4 1 bag Gardein beefless tips 1 bag Westpac stir fry frozen veggies 3 tablespoons soy sauce 2 tablespoons mirin 1 tablespoon brown sugar 1 tablespoon peanut oil 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger root 3 cloves minced garlic 1 cup quinoa Heat the oil in a large skillet or wok.  Add soy sauce, mirin, brown sugar, ginger and garlic and stir together.  Add in veggies and beefless tips.  Stir fry until heated beefless tips and veggies are heated through. While veggies are cooking, prepare quinoa according to the directions on the package. Top cooked quinoa with veggie stir fry and enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

