Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Going to Kansas City

This weekend I had the opportunity to attend the RRCA running coach certification course in Kansas City.  When I saw that they were offering a class in my hometown, I jumped all over it.  Once again, I’m probably not doing myself any favors as far as how people perceive my level of sanity by admitting that the thought of sitting in a class room for 16 hours over the course of 2 days listening to a instructor talk about running, running, and more running made me squeal like a little girl.  But this was one of the few times in my life that I would be in a room with 37 people that were just as insane, if not more so, than me for an extended amount of time. Of course I had to be there.

Holding up traffic in the parking garage

I actually learned quite a bit.  The top 3 things I took from this weekend are as follows:
1. Ice baths do not make for good first dates
2. Summers in Tuscon and plantar fasciitis are bad news for a marriage
3. Drinking a lot of milk before a race does NOT improve your lactate threshold

Alright.  Can we focus?  On a serious note, I did learn many lessons that will take with me as I become the best running coach the Hastings YMCA has ever seen.  I also got to meet some incredibly awesome fellow runners (well, being runners, they are awesome by default).

The Plaza

When not talking about running, I spent most of my free time, well, running.  What else would I do on a beautiful weekend while staying down by the Plaza?  Shop?  *snort*  Day one I took off for a quick 5 miler along Brush Creek before class.  Ran down by the Plaza and saw some of the fountains I grew up wanting to go for a swim in (who am I kidding, they are still as tempting as I remember).

JC Nichols Fountain

 

After a long day of sitting and way too much coffee and Chipotle, I was ready for run #2.  I met with a couple of my classmates for a nice, easy 5.5 mile run along the Trolley Trail and around Loose Park.  It’s been a long time since I had other runners to go out with.  As great of a conversationalist I may be, it was nice to have someone else other than myself to talk to for a change.

Day 2, I was up bright and early again, this time for a group run with the KC Track Club. I met 7 of my classmates at the Public Library to jog up to the rendezvous point for the Track Club.  Apparently the thought of running with 10 running coaches in training was a little intimidating to the club members, so the run ended up turning into a class field trip.  We ran up to the sculpture garden at the Nelson Atkins Museum of Art and then back to Loose Park before parting ways.

Shuttlecock….teehee

Tomorrow I will head home and say good-bye to my newest frenemy, Hospital Hill.  I will return with my brain full of knowledge and a raging case of DOMS in gastrocnemius(es?).  Most importantly I want to shout from the rooftop just how much I love running.  I may just have to do this from the top of a chicken coop in Iowa.  They’re chickens.  Who are they to judge?  Rose Garden at Loose Park

3 responses

  1. Was awesome to meet you and run with you as well! Hopefully you’ll pass by KC sometime again soon!

    2012/06/09 at 11:37 pm

  2. Terry

    I must be insane too because I am incredibly jealous!

    2012/06/10 at 7:35 am

  3. Great blog! It was so nice meeting you this weekend. Come to Chicago to visit soon. 🙂

    2012/06/10 at 4:18 pm

Leave a Reply

