Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

A girl can never have too many pairs of shoes

To start things off, I passed my RRCA coaching certification exam.  My CPR cards have been emailed in, so I can somewhat officially start calling myself a certified running coach.  So what in the world does this have to do with shoes?  Well, here it goes….

Today I made a quick stop into the local Running Room (Canadian owned company, lovely people) to see if they had any Brooks PureFlows in stock in my size.  My current ones took a beating over the what felt like a million miles of hills this last weekend in KC, so I’m in desperate need of a new pair.  Unfortunately, they were awaiting a shipment and were running low, so the salesperson working took down my info.  We got to talking about, what else, running.  I casually slipped it into the conversation that I was a running coach.  It turned out that she was looking for people to head up some weekly runs and also an instructor for their beginning 5k and new to running classes.  The class, which would be a paid instructor position (and I’d get an employee discount on running gear.  SCORE!!!!) was moving to a time that worked right into my schedule.  Sine she already had my contact info for the shoes, she made a little note that I was interested in being an instructor.  Voila!   I walked into the store looking for a pair of shoes and walked out with a possible coaching job.  Moral of the story:  It pays to shop!

Leave a Reply

