Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

(Wo)man’s Best Friend

As many of you know, I’m an avid animal lover.  I have 2 rescue cats and a spunky, sort of rescue year old German Shepherd pup.  My wonder pup has become not only an amazing companion, but the best running buddy a girl could ask for.  She is always up for a run, day or night.  She never complains that we’re going too fast.  If she does complain, it’s because we’re not going far enough or fast enough for her. Running with her, I can’t help but smile.  She takes sheer pleasure out of something that so many of us take for granted. She’s one of the reasons I love to run.

She’s not the first dog I’ve run with.  I started running with my family’s black lab when I was in college.  Like wonder pup, he loved to run.  We’d go down to the lake.  He’d get in a little swim before heading home.  He’s too old now for a run, but I remember those summer jogs fondly.  When friends and family saw me out running with my 4 legged friends, I started being asked if I could run with their dogs as well.  Usually, I said yes without hesitation.  About 6 months ago, I realized that there was a need out there for people who were willing to help owners of these high energy pooches to help them run off a little steam.  I started a dog walking and running business in my area.  It’s not exactly a lucrative career path, but it lets me get out with (wo)man’s best friend.

Anyone that has watched the dog whisper knows that it’s usually these bigger, energetic dogs that find themselves out of a home because that extra energy ends up being let out in destructive ways.  The other night, a friend of mine was posting pictures of dogs at her local animal shelter that needed a good home.  This got my fur baby fever going full throttle, so I checked out Animal Ark, the local no-kill shelter online.  That’s when I laid eyes on Stella , a gorgeous Catahoula Leopard dog.  I can’t commit to another pup right now, so I contacted the shelter letting them know that I would love to meet her and possibly become her running buddy while she was waiting for someone who would be able to give her a loving forever home.  I was ecstatic when they replied back telling me to come on  down to meet her.  

Stella

If you’re looking for a running buddy, please consider your local animal adoption agencies.  Many of these pets are looking for someone to give them that one on one attention, even if it is only for a few hours a week.  Who knows?  Maybe you’ll find your running soul mate…. 

Leave a Reply

