Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Kid Tested, Mother Approved

This morning I was greeted with a new post from Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me with a delicious looking green smoothie recipe.  I packed my daughter up and headed to the grocery store to see what fruits and veggies were in season and on sale.  We loaded up the cart with strawberries, watermelon, cantaloupe, peaches, nectarines, pluots, apples, cherries, and pineapple.  I rounded off the trip with some grapes, baby spinach, protein powder and flax seed to have everything I needed for the smoothie (and also replenished my quinoa stock for the rest of the week’s dinners).  

I’d just planned to make the smoothie for myself as a pre-run snack to get me until dinner time, but the kiddo saw me making one and insisted on one of her own.  Her reason, “I love strawberries and grapes!”  To my delight, she polished off half a glass before declaring herself full.

Strawberry Grape Smoothie

Ingredients: 
2 cups baby spinach
1 cup green grapes
1 cup fresh strawberries
1 scoop vanilla protein powder
1 tbsp hemp hearts (I didn’t have this on hand, so made it without)
1 tbsp chia seeds
2 tbsp ground flax

2 responses

  1. Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me

    Thanks for the shout out! Hope you enjoyed the smoothie 🙂

    2012/06/22 at 9:04 pm

    • It was delicious!! I can’t wait to try more of your smoothie recipes. Nothing better than a nice cold smoothie to start off a summer day 🙂

      2012/06/23 at 10:55 am

Leave a Reply

