Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

July Challenge

At the beginning of each month, I like to set a little challenge for myself.  Usually it is something to keep me motivated to stay active.  When I set these challenges for myself, I notice that it gives me that little extra push to exercise and eat healthy. One of the things I love about summer in the upper midwest is that everyone is outdoors (well they’re outdoors in the middle of winter too, but I’ll save that for another blog post).  Camping, swimming, biking, running, hiking, boating, kayaking, canoeing, rock climbing, Minnesotans love to be outdoors.  Having an aversion to being cooped up indoors when the weather is nice, I’m right there with them.  So this month, I’ve challenged myself (and challenge you) to spend at least half an hour outdoors everyday doing something active.  Bonus points if you can get the whole family involved.  With the heat indexes well above 100 for most of today (yes, it does get that hot in Minnesota), my daughter and I played Big Bad Wolf in the yard.  If you’re not familiar with the rules (and I’m not 100% clear yet either since the game was invented by a 4-year-old), basically this meant me tossing a tennis ball for Wonder Pup in the direction of my daughter’s play house while she ran inside and screamed that she was being attacked by the Big Bad Wolf.  Maybe one of these months I should do a challenge working on improving my parenting skills.

I’m actually really excited for this challenge.  Not only do I plan on tackling some of those great summer activities I just never seem to have time for, but I’ll be posting a lot of outdoor workouts and farmers market inspired recipes to share with 3 people who actually read my blog (Hey Mom!!!)  I also hope to find some amazing trails and running routes while I’m pounding out the miles.  So slather on the sunscreen and I’ll meet you at the lake!

Leave a Reply

