Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

My New Summertime Drink – Watermelon Mint Cooler

Something about summertime makes me want to chill out on my deck with a nice cold drink (or 12).  Unfortunately, most of those drinks aren’t exactly friendly in the calorie department.  When I stumbled across the recipe for this drink on in a the Fit Bride’s blog on Women’s Health website, I was excited to find a lower calorie cocktail to replace my noon, 3, 6, and 9 pm margaritas (don’t judge).   At about 130 calories per drink, this refreshing cocktail screams sunshine and summer days.  Image

Watermelon Mint Cooler

Ingredients:
6 oz. fresh watermelon juice or pulp (approx. 1 cup watermelon)
1 shot vodka
5 mint leaves, crushed (basil works well too if it’s fresh)
Ice

Directions:
Shake ice, vodka, and watermelon juice/pulp in a cocktail shaker. Strain into a glass, garnish with mint leaves.

Have a Happy 4th of July!!!  Cheers!!

One response

  1. I am going to have to try this. After I drink the watermelon beer we bought in the Twin Cities.

    2012/07/04 at 4:26 pm

Leave a Reply

