Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

MY 5 FAVORITE WORKOUT SONGS – August Healthy Living/Fitness Blogger Writing Challenge – August 1st

Janice at the Fitness Cheerleader has challenged other fitness/healthy living bloggers to a little challenge for the month of August.  The Challenge: To blog daily for a month.  Like many bloggers, I go through phases when I have no idea what to write about.  Or in the case of the last few weeks, summer laziness has kicked in, and I have little motivation to get cracking on the ever growing blogging to do list (anyone want to write 6 race reports for me?)  I’m really hoping that sitting down and being forced to write will help me get back into the swing of things and get caught up on all the fun stuff I had planned to do in July.  So here it goes, Day 1.

My 5 Favorite Workout Songs

1. Sound of Madness by Shinedown

2. ‘Til I Collapse by Eminem and Nate Dogg

3. One Step Closer by Linkin Park

4.  Little Lion Man by Mumford & Sons

5. Lonely Boy by The Black Keys

 

I’ve developed a love affair with the site jog.fm.  Plug in your goal pace and it spits out a list of songs with bpm that match your pace.  When I first checked it out and entered my pace, I found that most of the songs I’d been working out to were in that 7:15-7:30 min/mile range.  Coincidence???  I’ve been trying some new songs with quicker beats and have finally broken that 7 min/mile barrier.   I don’t run with headphones, but I love having music that keeps me at that same cadence when I’m at the gym and need to hop on the bike or treadmill.  And yes, I’ve been known to break out in song and dance in the middle of the gym.  It happens 🙂

4 responses

  1. Kerry

    I had never heard of jog.fm, but I just checked it out and I think it is awesome! Just rearranged my playlist for tonight’s run!

    2012/08/01 at 3:07 pm

  2. Holy moly you’re a fast runner!!

    2012/08/01 at 3:29 pm

  3. Jog.fm looks so cool. I have Lonely Boy on my playlist too – going to their concert on Saturday!

    2012/08/01 at 8:16 pm

  4. jog.fm keeps giving me songs at half my stride rate. Only a few punk songs go over 190 bpm!

    2012/08/02 at 10:12 am

Leave a Reply

