Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

I Can Go All Day Long – August Healthy Living/Fitness Blogger Writing Challenge – Aug. 2nd

Today’s question for the August Healthy Living / Fitness Blogger Writing Challenge  from The Fitness Cheerleader is “Do you workout in the morning or at night? Why?”

Most people have a favorite time of day to workout.  There are morning people, there are those that prefer the evenings.  Me, I go all day long.  Life is hectic.  I’m a single mom.  I work 5, yes 5, jobs.  My Monday rarely looks anything like my Tuesday, which in turn rarely looks anything like my Wednesday.  Days I have my daughter, running and going to the gym are a luxury.  If it weren’t for the fact I get paid to run, I’d probably have to hang up the running shoes on those days during the summer months.  So how do I find the time to work out?  Plan ahead.

Just like everything else in my life, workouts are scheduled into my day.  This may mean hitting the gym mid morning after their childcare opens so I can hop on the bike or hit one of the classes.  I may do an at home HIIT workout during nap time or right after my daughter goes to bed in the evenings.  Weekends, I lead running classes bright in early in the mornings.  During the school year, I’m that mom that drops her kid off wearing workout gear.  I’d map my running routes starting at my daughter’s preschool last year so I could get 10-13 miles in during the 2 hours she was in class.  I spend my dinner breaks getting a good lift in at the gym.  When I’m training for a race, the bulk of my training is done on the weekends when my daughter is with her dad.  My gym bag, a pair of road shoes, and a pair of trail shoes can usually be found in my car at any given time for those times when I find myself wrapping up errands early and can fit in a quick trip to the gym or explore a new running trail in a part of town I don’t usually get to.  I’ve made the decision to make exercise a priority in my life.  For me, not having the time is no excuse.  There’s always time.  You just have to find it.

One response

  1. Holy moly!! You are inspiring! You’ve inspired me to step it up a notch and even add that little bit more to all of my workouts – I’m sure even an extra mile added to each run will help me come race day that much more. Thanks!

    2012/08/03 at 8:28 am

Leave a Reply

