Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

This Year’s Highs and Lows – August Healthy Living/Fitness Blogger Writing Challenge – Aug. 6th

Today, the Fitness Cheerleader challenged bloggers to write about their highs and lows for the year.  I’m going to start with my highs because A) no one likes a Debbie Downer and B) they never would have happened without my low for the year.  But more on that later.

My Highs

1) I turned 30. Ok, to most people this would be considered a low.  Call me nuts, but I was looking forward to the big 3-0.  A new decade.  A chance to put my crazy 20s behind me.  Some days I even feel like an adult.  Not often, but occasionally I’m reminded that I’m a grown up.

2) I became certified as an RRCA running coach.  Now I can get paid to run.  Pretty awesome right????

3) I got back into personal training.  This spring, I was given an amazing opportunity at one of the area YMCAs.  Not only did they hire me as a personal trainer, but they were also looking for someone to head up their running program (see #2).  They are have a partnership with the physical therapy clinic housed in the same building.  I’ve had the chance to work with several post physical therapy clients as well as older adults looking to improve their mobility and health.  I’ve never walked out of an interview feeling like a job was made for me…. until now.

4) I dropped over 10 minutes off my half marathon time and have secured a spot in the first corral at the Twin Cities Marathon (if I ever get around to training for it).  My times this year also put me on pace to qualify for Boston.  Once again, that whole marathon training thing.

5) I bought a rock climbing harness.  You can’t get much higher than that… at least legally.

6) I rediscovered trail running and even added a few 25k races to the racing resume.  I can’t express just how liberating trail running is.  It’s my zen place.  You have to try to understand.

And now for the lows….

My Lows

There was that whole divorce thing.  Actually it really wasn’t all that bad.  Had it not been for that liberation, I probably wouldn’t have put myself out there so that those highs could happen.  Except turning 30.  I probably still would have turned 30 at some point.  But I wouldn’t have been so happy to do so.

What were your highs and lows over the past year?

Leave a Reply

