Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Peanut Butter Cup Green Smoothie

If you ever want to know what sort of candy to surprise me with on Valentine’s Day, you can’t go wrong with a box of Buckeyes.  Balls of peanut butter goodness dipped in chocolate, these were my downfall while living in Ohio.  So when I found a recipe for a peanut butter cup protein shake, I had to see if I could translate that goodness into my morning green smoothie.  Operation Peanut Butter Cup Green Smoothie was a success!!  Reese’s doesn’t have anything on this protein and nutrient packed chocolate-y sip of heaven.

Peanut Butter Cup Green Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1 Frozen banana
  • 2 Cups spinach or kale
  • 1 Cup milk
  • 1 Tsp chia seeds
  • 2 Tbsp Cocoa Powder
  • 2 Tbsp Peanut Butter
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder

Blend all the ingredients together and enjoy!

 

8 responses

  1. Ali

    I like the addition! I do that myself on occasion to sneak in the extra nutrients…. Glad you liked!

    2012/08/12 at 11:54 am

  2. That smoothie sounds amaaaazing!! 🙂 I’ve gotta try it! 🙂 I love a peanut butter and jelly smoothie I’ve been making… never thought of adding cocoa! Mmmm! I’ll probably use greek yogurt in it.
    That peanut butter cup with the heart cut out of it is SO cute!! 🙂

    Bonnie
    http://www.recipeshappen.com
    http://www.facebook.com/recipeshappen

    2012/08/12 at 1:30 pm

    • I posted a PB&J green smoothie recipe the other day as well. So good!! The original recipe that I tweaked for my PB Cup smoothie had greek yogurt in it, but I was too lazy too add it.

      2012/08/12 at 1:32 pm

      • haha! 🙂
        I just recently started using Greek yogurt; I love it for smoothies. 🙂

        2012/08/12 at 1:35 pm

  3. illinoishawkeye

    Must. Try. Soon. 🙂 – sadly I have everything but the spinach/kale. What is wrong with me?

    2012/08/12 at 6:24 pm

  4. another amazing sounding recipie! it is definately time i added some zing to my smoothies! getting a bit bored of the same old fruit combo’s…. iv always loved chucking spinach and chia seeds in there though 🙂 do you soak the chia seeds in the milk or just whack them straight in?

    2012/08/15 at 8:48 am

    • I just chuck them in. They get chopped up pretty well by my blender.

      2012/08/15 at 8:51 am

      • Sweet as, thanks 🙂

        2012/08/15 at 8:53 am

Leave a Reply

