Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Carrot Cake Green Smoothie

Guess what I had for breakfast…. Yep, a green smoothie.  Seriously, I love starting off my mornings with a protein packed breakfast.  While they are a little bit more calorie laden than a bowl of cereal, they keep me full all morning and give me the energy to get through that first half of my day without craving a not-so-healthy mid-morning snack (usually chocolate).  I’ve been trying a bunch of new recipes this week so I could expand on my usual strawberry banana and banana-chocolate repertoire.  Today I experimented with a recipe I found for a Carrot Cake Protein Shake from CreateLive.

            Carrot Cake Green Smoothie

  • 1 Frozen Banana
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 2 tsp pure Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 small carrot peeled or 2-3 baby carrots
  • 2 Tbsp ground flax-seed

 

2 responses

  1. This sounds pretty awesome! did it taste good? I only have Banana protein powder at the moment so i will have to look at brining in some Vanilla too.

    2012/08/15 at 8:44 am

    • It was really good! I’m keeping it in the morning smoothie rotation. You could probably modify this recipe to make a banana bread smoothie by just omitting the carrots.

      2012/08/15 at 8:49 am

Leave a Reply

