Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

What If……. – August Healthy Living/Fitness Blogger Writing Challenge – Aug. 14th

In yesterday’s challenge post, I wrote about trying to have as few regrets in life as possible.  I hate wondering “What If?” There’s always something that you could have done differently.  Sure, I think about those moments from time to time, but then I always ask myself, if I could go back and change things, would I?  I consider myself very fortunate.  My life may be far from perfect, but I have a career that I enjoy, that allows me plenty of time to be with my daughter, and pays the bills most of the time. I have a beautiful, smart, energetic 4-year-old who never fails to put a smile on my face.  I have amazing family and friends that supports me, even with all my crazy endeavors.  I have a roof over my head and food in the fridge.  I’m not sure I’d want to change things if I could.

One thing that a lot of people don’t know about me is that I graduated with dual degrees in Biology and Athletic training.  I was pre-med during college and had hoped of going on to medical school after graduation to study orthopedic or cardiovascular medicine.  That had been the goal since I was 5.  But then I got to college.  I loved the classes.  I’m fascinated by the human body and how intricate a machine it really is.  I also loved sports.  So when I got the opportunity to work with the athletic training staff at my college and take classes leading up to becoming a certified athletic trainer myself, I thought it would be a great way to prepare myself for a future career in sports medicine.  Little did I know that it would one day become my career. As part of the training, I worked closely with physicians in several different fields.  The more I learned, the more I realized that I wasn’t so sure this was what I wanted to devote my life to.  There were so many other things I wanted to accomplish and becoming a doctor would consume much of my time.  Would I be able to do it all?  But this was what I had dreamed of my whole life.  I studied for and aced the MCATS.  I was all set to get into the medical school of my choice, and then I didn’t finish my applications.  Turns out that I needed more time to figure out what I wanted to be when I grew up.

So here I am in my training room on Day 2 of my 8th year as a high school athletic trainer. I actually get to do a lot of the things I would have done if I had become a doctor.  I do injury evals, check out athletes when they’re ill, talk to them about how to treat injuries, come up with rehab plans, work with coaches to reduce the risk of injuries and illnesses.  But I also get to do so much more.  I’m here with these kids everyday.  I get to know them, watch them grow up.  I also have the time to explore my other interests and passions.  I was able to get my personal training and running coaching certifications.  My schedule allows me to work in those areas as well.  My mornings off are spent with the kiddo going to the zoo or meeting friends for playdates.  I can train for marathons.  I feel balanced.  If the itch to go back ever does happen, I can always go back to school.

Leave a Reply

