Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

My Favorite Recipe: Fra Diavolo – August Blogger Challenge – Aug. 16th

Today’s topic was another toughie for me.  My favorite recipe….  That’s like asking me to pick which child is my favorite.  Wait, I only have one.  Ok, it’s more like asking  me to pick which leg exercise is my favorite (lunges, plie squats, jump squats, leg press, I really can’t decide!) or which pair of running shoes I love the most.  There are so many to choose from.  I love to cook.  I’m always in the kitchen experimenting with some new recipe.  I’ve shared several of my successes on here already.  Today’s recipe is one that I’ve been meaning to share for a while.  This is a great way to use up those extra tomatoes from the garden.  It’s also insanely simple and can be made in no time at all.  It’s also bursting with flavor.  I haven’t bought a jar of pasta sauce since finding this recipe. I’d much rather have something fresh and healthy that tastes a million times better than anything that I’ve ever bought at the store.  You can also easily modify it for vegetarians.  If I’m just cooking for myself, I leave out the shrimp and scallops.  If I’m cooking for mixed company, I can easily set aside some of it before adding in the seafood so that everyone is happy.  I even made this for an Italian who was quite skeptical I could throw together some decent pasta, and his reaction was that I can make a mean pasta dish.  Without further ado, here is my fra diavolo recipe, courtesy of allrecipes.com.

Fra Diavolo  

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 6 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 3 cups whole peeled tomatoes with liquid, chopped
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 (16 ounce) package linguine pasta
  • 8 ounces small shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 8 ounces bay scallops
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley

Directions

  1. In a large saucepan, heat 2 tablespoons of the olive oil with the garlic over medium heat. When the garlic starts to sizzle, pour in the tomatoes. Season with salt and red pepper. Bring to a boil. Lower the heat, and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. Meanwhile, bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook pasta for 8 to 10 minutes, or until al dente; drain.
  3. In a large skillet, heat the remaining 2 tablespoons of olive oil over high heat. Add the shrimp and scallops. Cook for about 2 minutes, stirring frequently, or until the shrimp turn pink. Add shrimp and scallops to the tomato mixture, and stir in the parsley. Cook for 3 to 4 minutes, or until the sauce just begins to bubble. Serve sauce over pasta.
4 responses

  1. Oh yum-o!! This looks so good!

    2012/08/16 at 11:38 am

  2. It seems people can either cook or bake… I can bake (but I excel at confectionery). You make the dinner, I’ll make the dessert – and nothing very healthy!

    2012/08/16 at 12:17 pm

  3. oh that looks good!

    Here is my post (and not particularly clean, but it is tasty!): http://sheslosingit.net/2012/08/21/jjs-decadent-dessert/

    Lisa

    2012/08/21 at 8:45 pm

    • I just checked out your recipe. I’m going to have to pick up some angel food and whipped cream. YUM!

      2012/08/21 at 8:51 pm

Leave a Reply

