Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Excuse Me, I Just Fartleked – My Favorite Workout – August Blogging Challenge – Aug. 17th

Once again, I feel like I’m being asked to pick a favorite child (does my dog count?)  I’m a bit of a workout hoarder of sorts.  No really.  I have a couple of binders full of exercises and workouts I’ve printed out or pulled out of magazines.  Then there’s my notebooks that I jot workouts down in to take with me to the gym.  And a huge folder in my file cabinet at the gym where I save new ways to torture clients.  I collect squat variations like some girls collect handbags.  So I couldn’t pick one gym routine that I love the most because it changes about as often as I change my underwear.  So I’m going with my favorite run.

 

Go ahead laugh. All runners do it.  It’s nothing to be ashamed of.  I fartlek with pride.  I often tweet about my best fartleks. I’ve fartleked in public.  Sometimes I fartlek until I nearly puke.

I’ve probably lost a lot of the non-runners and maybe even a few runners out there that are trying to figure out what the hell I’m talking about.  Chances are, even if you’ve never been a runner, you’ve probably fartleked as well and didn’t know it.  Fartlek is Swedish for speed play.  A typical fartlek is going to be a longer run with some unstructured speed work thrown in for fun.  It works both the aerobic and anaerobic systems and is a great training tool to help build endurance as well as improve speed.  So going for a run and saying, “I’m going to run as hard as I can to the end of the road” would be a fartlek.  Remember doing (sorry for not being so PC) Indian runs you did in elementary school or as warm ups with your sports teams?  Yep, those would be fartleks as well.   Great thing about a fartlek is you can do it anywhere, make it as hard or as easy as you want, and it’s never the same run twice.

Have you fartleked recently?

One response

  1. I love speed work too! Fartleked….yeah it makes me giggle every time!!

    2012/08/18 at 5:07 am

Leave a Reply

