Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

The Story Behind Dirty Girl Running – August Blogging Challenge – Aug. 25th

So how exactly was Dirty Girl Running born…. Well, it all started on a cold winter evening in east central Minnesota. I was trying to come up with a good name for my Facebook athlete page where I planned on posting most of my running statuses since it’s apparently a big Facebook faux pas to brag about your daily workouts.  I wanted something that fit with my personality.  I’d be lying if I said I might have also been a little tipsy at the time.

I’d just signed up for a Tough Mudder and had recently been getting back into trail running.  I didn’t want to be just another running blog.  Then I remembered something my track coach had said to me many, many years ago.  I’d just ran a very crowded 1600. I’d actually set a new PR despite getting boxed in a few times. My coach came over to congratulate me.  Then he told me I ran dirty.  At that point, he was talking about what he liked to call “running like a soccer player.”  He used to ride me about it all the time.  When I started to get crowded during a race, the soccer player liked to come out.  The elbows would come up, and I’d start weaving through the crowd to get a better position.  I couldn’t run in a straight line to save my life. I might have also cut off another runner or two in my day.  And if I got pissed off during a run, watch out.

Now that my racing etiquette is in check (unless you’re a group of walkers that lines up at the front of the race and insists on walking 5 people across, then prepare to be trampled), I run dirty in a different way.  I’m not afraid to go out there and get a little messy.  I love the mud and the trails.  I’m a dirty girl and proud of it!  Dirty Girl Running was born.  The world will never be the same again.

4 responses

  1. SaraRM

    I love this! Too funny! We have to find a meeting place and run a race together this year! When is the Kansas race?

    2012/08/26 at 10:58 am

  2. I’ve mellowed just a tad, too. In my most competitive days, I once got boxed in during a track race and, stuck less than an inch behind a runner in front of me… I bit him!

    2012/08/26 at 12:10 pm

    • Can’t say I’ve ever bit anyone, but if you got too close to my elbow or spikes, you had it coming.

      2012/08/26 at 12:20 pm

Leave a Reply

