Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

What’s in Your Gym Bag – August Blogging Challenge – Aug. 24th

My gym bag.  I never leave home without it.  Seriously.  In the off chance that a workout emergency occurs, I want to be prepared.  I figure this is also great preparation in case of a zombie apocalypse since I’ll have my running shoes, extra clothes, and zombie ass kicking music ready to go.  You never know.

1. Shoes – Usually an retired pair of running shoes that I clean up so I can get a little more life out of them before saying goodbye (or just adding them to the ever growing running shoe collection).  Right now I’ve got a pair of Brooks Ghost 4s.

2. Gym Clothes.  Usually this is a pair of capris and a tank top.  Have to show off the guns I’ve worked so hard for.

3. iPod – Yes, I am quite aware that a 4th generation nano belongs in an iPod museum somewhere as a relic of past technologies.  But as long as it’s still pumping out tunes, I’ll be kicking it old school

4. Notebook and Pen – This is where  I plan out my workouts for the day and track how many reps and sets at whatever weight.  I have exercise ADD, so I need a pretty well stocked arsenal to keep me from getting distracted by shiny objects (usually sweaty men with big muscles).

5. Kindle – Another must for my workout ADD.  If I’m going to have to move the cardio indoors because I can’t get outside for a run, I need something to keep me entertained.  By the way, reading 50 Shades of Gray while riding the stationary bike is a really bad idea.

6. Hair brush and extra hair ties – I have long curly hair.  Enough said.

7. Make up bag –  I actually have a separate gym make up stash so I don’t have to worry about forgetting my face.   I like to look pretty. I’m a girl.  Deal with it.

8. Deodorant – It should be a law that all gym goers carry some on their person at all times.  I can’t reiterate the importance of deodorant enough.  Use it people!!

9. Make up removing wipes – To take off my face before sweating it out.  Working in a gym and being the person that folds all those little towels, I can tell you that make up does not wash out of towels nicely.  Plus the scary clown look is never good.

10. Protein Bar – Post workout recovery snack on the go.

11. Water Bottle – Can also be filled with vodka, but not advised during hard interval or lifting sessions.

12. Bondi Band – Great for keeping the hair out of the face during those intense tabata workouts.

13. Heart Rate Monitor – I love my Polar FT4.  It’s a great basic HRM without many bells and whistles, but for a gym workout, it does everything I need it to do.  It tracks my HR and calories burned.  Mostly I got it because it’s pink, and I get a great discount on Polar watches.

14.  Lotion – It’s a girl thing.

One response

  1. I love that you keep your bag in your car just in case. I bet it also motivates you to not skip a workout. Great job.

    2012/08/27 at 9:16 am

Leave a Reply

