Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Race Recap – Minneapolis Duathlon 5k – 8.26.12

This morning was the Minneapolis Duathlon, the 4th of 5 races for the Team Ortho Monster Marathon Series.  I’ll make a shameful confession here.  I don’t own a bike.  It’s not that I have no desire to have one.  Quite the opposite actually.  I’m seriously afraid that if I start cycling, I’ll get addicted.  I’m also one of those people that if I do something, I want to do it well.  Which means a decent road bike.  And those things are freaking expensive!!  So until I save up a little to buy some toys, I’m stuck running the 5k.  

This year I came back hoping to defend my 2nd place AG title.  Hey, it may have been only 2nd place in the women’s 20-29 age group, but dammit, I’m proud of that top finisher flag!!!   This year had me moving up to the insanely competitive women’s 30-39 division.  Those women are fast!!  Just to give you an idea, the top 6 finishers in the women’s division, plus one that was running unchipped, were in their 30s.  We represented 10 of the top 13.  Yeah, that age group is really that hard.  So to place in the women’s 30-39 division is something worth bragging about.  Winning that age group earns you some major bragging rights.  Taking the whole thing, well that just means you’re a BAMF.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t repeat my 2nd place AG finish.  It’s okay, don’t be too sad.  I’ll get over it.

At the finish line

 

…. Because I was the top overall woman!!!!  Not only did I win my AG, but I PR’ed and was the fastest woman out there this morning.  Well, at least just running the 5k 🙂  Here are my official results.

Official time 22:38

1st in my AG

1st place in the women’s division

9th overall

 

3 responses

  1. Yay! (Somebody had to comment…)

    2012/08/27 at 10:08 am

  2. Running Unplugged

    Congratulations!

    2012/08/28 at 4:54 pm

Leave a Reply

