Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

One Fish, Two Fish, Swedish Fish, Blue Fish

As the summer fishing season winds down, I’m in search of a different kind of fish.  The Swedish fish, that is.  While my sweet tooth is well documented, these fish aren’t just for aimlessly snacking on while blogging and watching Netflix.  They serve a greater purpose that only runners seem to understand.  They may just be one of the best mid-race snacks.  I will gladly chomp on those little red gummies any day over gels and chews.  I have tried over and over to make myself like the traditional running fuels, but I just can’t do it.  Gels are slimy and sticky.  Have you ever tried to open one of those little pouches while running at 1:40 half marathon pace?  It’s a recipe for disaster.  The chews always seem to get stuck in my teeth.  I’m pretty sure my mom cscolded me a few times as a kid for running around with a tooth pick in my mouth.  So the quest continued for something I could literally eat on the run. 

A few of my ultra friends (as in they run ultramarathons, not that they’re really all that much better than my non-ultra friends),  had mentioned snacking on swedish fish.  When you have someone that’s paced Badwater and another friend that it’s usually one of the top masters women finishers at some pretty well-known marathons telling you to try something, you don’t ask any questions.  You run right out to the local convenience store and buy every single box they have. 

Which brings us to my “conversation with a non-runner” of the week.  While on my latest Walgreen’s shopping spree, I noticed that boxed candies were on sale for $1 each if you bought 3 or more.  This included swedish fish.  I was like a kid in a candy shop.  Only I was a sleep deprived 30-year-old in the candy aisle at Walgreens.  Which is kind of the same thing.  Quickly doing the math, I had just enough cash left to grab the 3 box minimum.  With a stupid grin on my face, I made my way to the checkout.  First words out of the register boy’s mouth, “I know Swedish fish are good and all, but that’s a lot of fish.”  After trying to explain what they were for, I think the poor boy was more confused than he had been just trying to figure out why a little tiny girl was walking out with an armful of candy. 

Of course, I had to post about this amazing deal as my Facebook status as soon as I got out of the store.  The conversation that ensued over the pure awesomeness of Swedish fish validated that I’m not in fact crazy.  Which then went off onto the best goodies that have been waiting for runners at race aid stations.  Homemade turtles, soup, build your own PB&Js, the list went on and on.  Which leads me to the question of the day.

What is your favorite go to mid-workout snack?

2 responses

  1. I’m a confectioner and an ultrarunner, but I’ve never had what you’re calling Swedish fish! I always thought that Swedish fish were salty black licorice (that’s at least what they are in Sweden). I’ve never found anything that works for me in long runs, but now I have one more thing to try.

    2012/09/23 at 12:12 pm

    • They’re also called red ju ju fish. I can’t believe you’ve never run across them at aid stations at any of your ultras!

      2012/09/23 at 1:03 pm

Leave a Reply

