Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Happy Autumnal Equinox!!

Pine Tree Lake at Pine Tree Apple Orchard

Yesterday was the first official day of fall.  I kicked it off with an early trail run on a crisp morning with a group of trail vets I’d met on Facebook.  Head lamps in place, we took off for an easy 10 miler through Lebanon Hills Regional Park.  I followed up yesterdays lovely trail run with an easy 6 down along the river through the fog with the running group I lead up Sunday mornings at the local YMCA. Really, I can’t think of a better way to welcome the cooler air, beautiful fall colors, and post run pumpkin spice lattes than with a couple of great runs.

Check that.  I can think of one way.  An afternoon at one of the local apple orchards with my mom and daughter.  My daughter, like most 4 year olds, loves fall.  To her, fall is playing in the leaves, carving pumpkins, picking apples, and trick or treating. On the cool, dreary days, we spend hours together in the kitchen, whipping up some new recipe using pumpkins, squash, apples, and other goodies from the local fall harvest.  Cookies, cakes, breads, soups, you name it, she’s right next to me as my mini-sous chef.

Nothing says fall like steel-cut oats with apples and a skim pumpkin latte from Panera

To celebrate fall and all the (healthy) deliciousness that is has to offer, I’ll be posting a new fall inspired recipe everyday in the month of October.  31 days of Fall Flavors.  Tonight, I’m excited throw some steel-cut oats in the crock pot with a couple of the McIntosh apples we picked up today at the orchard.  Look forward to this recipe and others in the coming weeks.

 

Leave a Reply

