Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Drunken Noodles in Cashew-Shiitake Broth

During a recent trip to the gym, I hopped on the bike, only to find that the battery in my kindle was completely dead.  I’m not a huge magazine reader, with the exceptions of Trail Runner and Runner’s World.  At the gym, the last thing I want to do is look at pictures of perfectly groomed women with the inhuman ability to not sweat while working out hold poses of workout moves with big happy smiles while the photographer clicks away.  I do not look like that at the gym.  I sweat… a lot.  If you can smile while doing dive bomber push ups, I want whatever you’re smoking.  So reluctantly, I settled on an old copy of SHAPE magazine with Alison Sweeney on the cover.  I love Alison Sweeney.  I remember her as Samantha back on Days of Our Lives.  I grew up watching her on there and love the transformation she’s made into womanhood.  Compared to many of the other celebs they feature on their cover, she seemed like a safe bet to get me through a gym cardio session.   I skipped through the fashion and beauty sections to my favorite parts, the workouts and recipes.  After checking out their Hunger Games workout, I turned to find this recipe for Drunken Noodles in Cashew-Shiitake BrothThis recipe is from Chloe Coscarelli, author of Chloe’s Kitchen: 125 Easy, Delicious Recipes for Making the Food You Love the Vegan Way.  Always looking for a quick and easy healthy soup recipes, this one had me discreetly slipping the magazine into my gym bag so that I could go home and copy the recipe (don’t worry, I’m going to return the magazine…. next week…) 

Drunken Noodles in Cashew-Shiitake Broth

Yield: 4 Servings 

Total Time: 25 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 6 oz dried udon noodles 
  • 1/4 cup cashews 
  • 2 Tbsp Olive oil
  • 1/2 lb Shiitake mushrooms, stemmed and sliced
  • 3 Scallions, ends trimmed and thinly sliced
  •  4 cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger, grated
  • 1/4 Jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely chopped (I like mine spicy, so doubled this to 1/2)
  • pinch ground cayenne pepper
  • 5 cups low sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 Tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp toasted sesame oil
  • pinch sea salt
  • 4 tsp fresh Cilantro, chopped
Preparation:

1. Cook udon noodles according to package directions; drain and set aside. Toast cashews in a dry pan over medium heat for 3 minutes or until lightly browned and fragrant. Remove from heat and chop roughly.

2. Meanwhile, heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms and scallions; cook for 5 minutes or until mushrooms are soft. Mix in garlic, ginger, jalapeno, and cayenne pepper and cook for 2 minutes.

3. Add broth to the mushroom mixture and bring to a boil. Add noodles, reduce heat to low and simmer, reduce heat to low, and simmer, covered for 10 minutes. Turn off heat and stir in vinegar and sesame oil. Season to taste with salt. Ladle into four bowls and garnish each with 1 tablespoon of cashews and 1 teaspoon of cilantro; serve.

Leave a Reply

