Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

“It’s Hard to Run Fast When You Gotta Go Poop” – Running 101 from a 4-Year-Old

Yesterday when I picked my daughter up from school, she saw that I had my running gear on and immediately started in on 20 questions, runners style.

“Mommy, why are you wearing your running clothes?”

Off she goes!

“I ran to the school today.”

“How far did you run?”

“About 4-5 miles.”

“No, I think you ran 22 miles!”

Laughing.  “Not today, hun.  But in a few weeks I’m going to run 26 miles!”

“Really?????”

“Yep, you might get to come watch me.”

“Can I run too?”

“Well 26 miles is really far.  How about we go to the park and run 3 miles after lunch?”

“OK!!!!”

Watching a school of fish from the bridge

So there we had it, our pre-nap wear out a preschooler plan.  I’d signed us both up for my friend Amy’s Pumpkin to Princess Welcome Fall Virtual 5k to raise money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society through Team in Training.  We headed home, changed her into some shorts, had a quick snack, and we were off to the park.  One of the local parks has a path that circles a pond/marsh that’s home to lots of water fowl and turtles.  There’s a bridge that crosses the pond about halfway around the loop, making it easy to measure off a 4-year-old friendly running route.  Now 3 miles may sound like a lot for a preschooler, but you haven’t met my child.  She never walks.  Until it’s time to run.  100 feet into our run, she decided she had enough and wanted to walk.  But she didn’t want to go home either.  So we kept going on our walk/jog.  We’d race to park benches and the bridge.  Then about a mile in and about a mile from the nearest bathroom that she had to poop.  Turns out 4 year olds suffer from runners tummy just like grown ups.  Only it kicks in way earlier for them.  We began our long slow walk back to the park entrance.  There were stops to watch the schools of fish from the bridge and pick up feathers and sticks for her nature collection.  When asked if she wanted to run some more, she replied very matter of fact, “It’s hard to run fast when you gotta go poop.”  Yeah kid, I’ve been there and know the feeling.  I finally spotted a porta potty.  When I tried to get her moving in the direction, she told me she didn’t have to go anymore.  Well, by now the runner’s tummy was starting to hit me, and instead of heading out for another short lap, we hopped in the car and raced home to the comfort of our own bathroom.  We made it roughly half a 5k (1.6 miles) before calling it quits.  Wonder if Amy will special order us only half a medal…

2 responses

  1. I think you deserve the whole medal, lol. Great job! Thank you!

    2012/09/26 at 7:02 pm

  2. Funny post. Love the honesty of kids. It would be an awesome headline to see on the cover of Runner’s World magazine!

    2012/09/28 at 7:10 pm

Leave a Reply

