Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

WWJMD? (What Would Jillian Michaels Do?)

The other morning, I woke up to a text from one of my regular training clients letting me know she was stuck at home, sick as a dog thanks to her kids, and would not be making it in to our training session that morning.  As I lay in bed trying to get the motivation to get moving for the day, I asked myself “What would Jillian Michaels do?”  Jillian would probably call the Y, ask for her home address, and show up there with a bullhorn, telling my client and all her neighbors that a little head cold was no excuse and to get her ass out of bed, dressed and out the door for an impromptu outdoor workout.  I thought about just how nice it would be to go back to bed after dropping my daughter off at school.  Jillian Michaels, I am not.

Mother Nature (that bitch) had other plans. She knows I can’t resist those beautiful clear crisp fall mornings.  Temps were right around 50, sun was out.  Perfect weather for a run… after a quick workout at the gym.  There might have been a little swearing to myself as I packed up my gym bag.  As I warmed up on the bike, so did my attitude.  I’d done legs and glutes the day before, so it was going to be a back day, with a little chest thrown in for fun.  Like I mentioned in an earlier post, I’d been trying to master the pull up all summer, so I hopped right into my trusty back and shoulder routine.  4 times through this series.  Boom, boom, boom on the exercises, with a chance to rest after completing each round.  Lat pull-downs, bent over rows with the bar, one arm rows, and finish it off with rear delt raises.  6 reps each exercise (going for strength, so low rep high weight) with as much weight as I can handle.  Break down looked a little something like this:

  • Lat pull down –  Round 1 @ 100 lbs, rounds 2-4 @ 90 lbs (so weak today)
  • Bent over row – Rounds 1-4 @ 75 lbs
  • 1 arm row – Rounds 1-4 @ 45 lbs
  • Rear delt raise – Rounds 1-4 @ 25 lbs (d0n’t laugh)

Threw in some chest press with dumbbells and ab work to round out the workout before heading home to get and stretch the legs on a little run. Timed it perfectly so that I got in about 4.5 miles before having to pick up my daughter from school.   I was jogging up to the building right as she was walking out the door.  While I may have let me client off easy, part of me wants to think that Jillian would have been proud of me for getting my butt up out of bed and using my down time to rock out a killer back workout and a few decent miles.

 

Leave a Reply

