Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Puppy PR – Welcome Fall Virtual 5k: Take Two

This pretty much sums up how she feels about running

After having to cut short my attempt with my 4-year-old for the Welcome Fall Virtual 5k being done by my friend Amy at Pumpkin to Princess, I decided to give it a go with my trusty running partner, Wonder Pup.  At least with her, I’m always prepared for a poop emergency.  With the cooler mornings, Wonder Pup and I have been tearing it up on the roads as of late.  She’s loving her daily 2-3 mile runs, and I’m loving that it keeps her from eating lawn furniture. It’s a win-win. 

After dropping my daughter off at school, we took to the roads for a quick 3.1.  She quickly figured out that it was a race day, and took off full go down the road.  After several near run ins with squirrels, we finally made it home, without having to stop once.  The last time we did a 5k, I may have cheated a bit and stopped the watch for potty breaks.  Considering how long it takes her to find the perfect swatch of grass, I figure her actual old 5k time was a good minute or two longer than my Garmin time, meaning she set a new 5k PR.  She does need a little work on pacing. She went out a bit fast and was paying for it that last mile.  Rookie mistake, but she’ll learn eventually.  At least she has a good coach to help her learn to reel it in a little those first few miles.  Now to figure out how to get her to run around a track without getting distracted by squirrels and garbage trucks.

2 responses

  1. Great job. Thanks girl!

    2012/09/29 at 8:19 pm

  2. What a beautiful dog! To pace her, you should attach the Garmin’s heart rate monitor to her and you could train her to stop whenever she hears the alarm for when it goes out of range!

    2012/09/30 at 12:09 pm

Leave a Reply

