Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Looking Ahead to October

I can’t believe it’s almost October already.  Only 3 more months in 2012!  (If anyone knows the day count until Christmas, please keep it to yourself or I will personally hunt you down and make you do burpees!)  October is a huge race month up here in the upper midwest.  Cooler temps and fall colors mean great times and beautiful scenery for every distance from 5k to marathon and beyond.  I have not only one, but two big races coming up this month.  On October 20th, you’ll find me running the Waddell & Reed Kansas City Marathon.  I’ll admit that training hasn’t exactly gone as planned.  I have a few big marathons on the calendar for next year, so I’m going into this one open-minded and hoping to use it as more of a training run for my big ultra later this year.  It may not be pretty, but I will finish this baby.  As a prime example of poor race planning, I’ll be following it up the next weekend with the Team Ortho Twin Cities Monster Dash Half Marathon.  This will be my second year running it.  It’s a fast, downhill course with lots of crazy folks running in insane costumes.  I’m looking for good costume ideas, so shoot me any ideas you may have.  The crazier, the better.  Seriously, I have no shame.  Just wait for pics of what I plan to wear while volunteering at Surf the Murph later that afternoon.

October will also be bringing 31 Day of Fall Flavors to the blog.  I’m going to try my hardest to post a new fall inspired recipe each day in the month of October, so get out to your local farmer’s market, pumpkin patch, or apple orchard and stock up on fall fruits and veggies.  I’ll be taste testing each one, so if you’d like to help me out and volunteer as a guinea pig, just shoot me a reply letting me know when you’ll be over.  The baking will be commencing as soon as I finish this post.  I’ll be kicking it all off tomorrow morning with a recipe for apple cinnamon crock pot steel-cut oats.  I just finished off my last batch this morning at work.

In other news, my mom turns 60.  I’m not sure how this relates at all to my blog, but I will be reminding her everyday until then just how old she’s going to be.  Maybe I’ll start after KC, since I’ll probably be using her AARP discount to get us good rates on a hotel.  And also her legs to drive my sorry butt home after the KC Marathon.  I’ll be getting her something pretty nice to celebrate.  Even if she hasn’t ever looked at my blog.

 

Leave a Reply

