Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

T Minus One Week and Counting

According to the ticker on the Kansas City Marathon website, there are exactly 6 days, 8 hours, 39 minutes, and 44 seconds until the start of the race next Saturday morning.  Cue anxiety attack.  I’m under trained and have no idea where my brain and motivation have run off together too.  Realistically, I know I can make it through, but it may not be pretty.  Boston qualifying time isn’t even in the vocabulary at this point.  While I’d had hoped to possibly PR, I’m going into KC using this as a training run and check point to see what needs to be done in the 2 months leading up to my first ultramarathon. 

Part of me just wants to say screw it and enjoy my vacation from work at home and catching up on sleep and the 2 months of DVR that I haven’t had a chance to sit down and watch since summer vacation.  But I made the huge mistake of opening my mouth and letting family know I’ll be down there running.  My mom has offered to drive me down and watch my daughter so she can see family that she hasn’t had a chance to spend time with since she was a baby.  My cousin who kicked lung cancer’s ass will be there cheering me on.  If she can survive that, I can suck it up for 26.2 miles.  My sister is flying in to see the family one last time before moving to Atlanta.  And two of my girlfriends will be running with me.  By running with me, I mean leaving me in their dust as they go kick some serious ass and taking names.  I also get the chance to finally race in my hometown.  In what’s now 6 days, 8 hours, 24 minutes, 19 seconds and counting…..

Leave a Reply

