Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

White Chocolate Cherry Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies – 31 Days of Fall Flavors Recipe #13

One of my favorite ways to spend time with my daughter is baking cookies in the kitchen.  She loves to add each ingredient in as I measure them out and stir while I’m checking the recipe to see what needs to be added next.  She asks to smell all the spices one by one as we add them in and taste the batter to see what each little ingredient adds.  This time in the kitchen is our time.  Even if there’s a big mess to clean up at the end, this is time I cherish.

In the fall, we always bake pumpkin oatmeal cookies.  Growing up, my mom would bake a basic pumpkin cookie and we would decorate them with candy corns.  Jack-o-lantern faces in October, turkey feathers and beaks as we got closer to Thanksgiving.  I remember getting a care package every fall in college with a huge batch of these cookies to share with my roommates and friends.  Now that my daughter is old enough to help in the kitchen, she loves helping me pick out that perfect pumpkin to bake and puree on our annual trip to the pumpkin patch.  When I found this recipe at My Baking Addiction, it sounded a lot like the cookies I ate as a kid, only with cherries and white chocolate chips added in for a little something extra instead of the candy corns.  I made a few small changes to make them a bit healthier (if only I could figure out a way to cut back on the sugar), and the result was my mom’s cookies only better.  Sorry mom!!!

White Chocolate Cherry Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

Makes 36 cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup all natural unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1 cup dark unsweetened dried cherries; roughly chopped

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line your baking sheet with a silicone mat or parchment paper.

2. Combine flour, oats, baking soda, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice and salt in medium bowl. Stir together applesauce, brown sugar and granulated sugar in another bowl until well blended.

3. Add pumpkin, egg whites and vanilla extract; mix well. Add flour mixture; stir well. Fold in white chocolate chips and dried cherries.

4. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto prepared baking sheets.

5. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until cookies are lightly browned. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely.

2 responses

  1. That’s amazingly close to my mother’s chocolate chip cookie recipe (with added pumpkin, cherries and applesauce… all good things)!

    2012/10/18 at 10:08 am

  2. Hi !
    Looking for cookies ideas I found you. Good discovery!
    Your recipe of cookies dairy free are really great and inspired me inmediately to do similar ones with black chocolate. Here you are my link if you would like to see the result
    http://www.aliswhim.com/?p=9884
    Thank you for sharing all that good ideas!

    2013/03/30 at 5:34 am

Leave a Reply

