Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Pumpkin Parmesan Penne – 31 Days of Fall Flavors #14

I’m having one of those “OMG, I really need to go to the grocery store!”  nights.  I just opened the fridge and it’s pretty much hummus and Greek yogurt, which I’m guessing is the female vegetarian version of a bachelor’s fridge.  Sick of veggie burgers and PB & Apple Butter sandwiches, I needed to make a real dinner.  Like any good single person, I had pasta and lots of it.  A bit of a pasta snob, I can’t do jarred pasta sauce.  I have flashbacks of the college days where the cafeteria served vats of Ragu nightly in the pasta bar for those of us that didn’t want to eat the mystery meat.  *shudder*  This recipe just happened to pop up in my inbox earlier today, and as luck would have it, I had some leftover pumpkin puree in the freezer.  Score!!!  I deviated a bit from the original recipe, but I’ll post it without my major tweaks below and let you have some fun with the flavors you enjoy.  It is a bit on the mild side, and I like pasta with a bit of a kick, so I added extra Parmesan to my liking and sprinkled a bit of garlic powder on my portion, which probably defeats the whole purpose of all the original spices.  But I don’t care.  I love garlic and with Halloween right around the corner, I want to be prepared in case Twilight is real.

Pumpkin Parmesan Penne

Serves 3

Ingredients

  • 6 ounces penne pasta (go for whole wheat if you’re a better person than me)
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree (more if sauce is too thin)
  • 3/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup skim milk (or vanilla almond milk if you’re out of real milk)
  • a sliver of unsalted butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 pinch ground cloves
  • 1 pinch ground nutmeg
  • 1 pinch ground cinnamon
  • 1 pinch ground ginger
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for serving

 Directions

  1. Fill a large pot with lightly salted water and bring to a rolling boil over high heat. Once the water is boiling, stir in the penne, and return to a boil. Cook the pasta uncovered according to the box, stirring occasionally, until the pasta has cooked through, but is still firm to the bite. Drain well and set aside.
  2. Heat the pumpkin puree, vegetable broth, milk, butter, onion powder, black pepper, salt, cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon, and ginger in a large skillet over low heat until heated through, about 5 minutes. Stir in the drained pasta, and toss with the Parmesan cheese.  Sprinkle with additional parmesan cheese if desired.

 

Leave a Reply

