Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Black Friday – Dirty Girl Running Style

If you want to see me have an anxiety attack, take me shopping on Black Friday.  Irrational deal seekers, lacking basic parking lot navigation skills in mass quantities is something out of a horror movie.  Zombies I can handle.  An espresso-ed out soccer mom trying to get her hands on the last Wii U, you better stay out of the way of those perfectly french manicured nails unless you really love wearing a pirate patch every single day.  So I avoid shopping on black Friday at all costs.  Unless there is a running deal to be found.

So while the rest of America was camping out in the cold for a cheap tv, I was at home, snuggled up on my couch with a fire and glass of wine registering for next year’s races.  FrontRunner, a company that hosts several races in Minnesota and Wisconsin, as well as the White Bear Grand Prix, a series I was an age group winner in a few times a couple of years back, offers half off all their races black Friday until Cyber Monday.  At $15 a pop for distances ranging from 5k to 10 miles, this is just too good a deal to let pass on by.  Not only do they host the Grand Prix, but they also put on two of the races in the UMTR trail series, the Chippewa 10k and William O’Brien 10 mile.  So I may not have any gifts bought yet for my daughter, but my 2013 racing calendar is coming along nicely.

I might have also bought myself a Polar FT4 heart rate monitor.  I was given the task of selling them during the YMCA black Friday sale today at work.  My brainwashing worked a little too well, since I ended up replacing the one I seem to have misplaced.  But at the end of the day, all my races and watch were still less than a 32″ flat screen tv.  I think I did pretty good on my black Friday shopping spree!

4 responses

  1. I use to be a black Friday shopper. I would never camp out for days or even hours to get into a store (except the one time my stepson wanted a TV from Wal-mart). I started hitting the malls to look for clothes and shoes for myself but this year was a waste of time. I think next year I will stick to online shopping. I’m glad to hear that you made out ok.

    2012/11/25 at 7:06 am

    • I did venture to Target later in the day, but because I needed to pick up some motor oil. I was really disappointed in the lack of toys on sale. I somehow walked out of there with less than $50 in things (had a few other things on my list). I’m thinking homemade is the way to go this year.

      2012/11/26 at 8:33 pm

  2. I’ll see you at Chippewa. I’m signed up for the 50K!

    2012/11/25 at 1:29 pm

    • I thought about the 50k, but I’ll be focusing of trying to qualify for Boston at Fargo. So short and sweet it is. Maybe 2014 for the full 50k!

      2012/11/26 at 8:30 pm

Leave a Reply

