Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

Nothing Sweet About This Race – Sweetheart 10 Mile Race Report

sweetheart runToday I kicked off my 2013 race season with the Sweetheart Run 10 mile in Mathomedi, MN.  This was my 2nd time running the race.  The last time was in 2010.  I’m attempting to reclaim my AG winner title in the White Bear Grand Prix this year.  This was race #2 in the series, but something about running on a frozen lake for #1 just doesn’t appeal to me.  I’d forgotten that A) the course was much hillier than I remembered. B) Country roads in the winter are typically not clear of ice and snow. C) Running a 10 mile race in February is generally a stupid idea.

2010 Sweetheart 10 Mile. A bit chillier than this year’s race

I had Yaktrax.  They were in my car.  Which doesn’t help much when most of the out and back course was on snow-covered roads.  When I did the race in 2010, I don’t remember the footing being such an issue.  It was also much colder that year (no frozen eyelashes this year), so that probably helped keep the roads runable.  I’m still nursing the hammy injury from my failed ultra attempt at the end of December (still need to write about that, maybe when my ego heals a bit more).  Not the best conditions to be running under my first race back.  Towards the end, I felt it start to fatigue and with marathon training underway, I slowed down way more than I would have liked to keep from re-tweaking it.  I also got lost.  I missed a turn right at the end.  Luckily I wasn’t the only one who missed it and only one poor soul followed me.  Sorry 😦  Even with everything, I still ran a minute faster than my attempt a few years ago.  Ideally, I would have loved to have been in the 1:20-1:25 range, but looks like I’ll be saving that for the 10 mile race that I’m coaching runners for this summer Training starts at the end of the month if you want to join one of our weekend running groups.  Email for more information 🙂 (Only shameless plug, I promise!) Next race is a few weeks away.  A 5k that is also part of the Grand Prix. Last time I ran this one was in 2010 as well.  While I probably won’t beat my PR set last year at the Minneapolis Duathlon, I should have no problem demolishing my old time for that course.

Official time 1:31:31

5th in my AG

13th place in the women’s division

28th overall

Leave a Reply

