Running Dirty. Eating Clean. Loving Life.

The Incredible (Not So) Edible Egg

With the hammy and mother nature still thwarting my marathon training attempts, my focus has switched over to hitting the weights to get back the strength I’ve lost over the winter.  Ok, really, I just want to look like Erin Stern when bikini season comes around.  This has meant cleaning up my terrible winter eating habits (hello, muffin top!) and getting back into a strength training routine.  Sadly, every diet I’ve seen out there for people looking to build muscles mass while slimming down includes massive amounts of egg whites.  I HATE eggs!!!!  I have never been able to stomach them.  And my dislike for eggs was further solidified in college when a developmental biology project gone wrong resulted in me becoming the parent briefly of an adorable little chick.  Spike, if you’re reading this, mommy loves you!  So when it comes to having eggs for breakfast every day, Rocky, I am not.

rocky

I did what any girl would do, and posted on facebook about my dilemma.  Luckily, I have some amazing friends that probably could chug down raw egg whites like they were a frat boy at a kegger.  Hello breakfast souffle!!  Primallyinspired.com has a couple of amazing breakfast souffle recipes that are not only decadent, but healthy to boot.  The breakfast fruit souffle is like eating a really fluffy pancake topped with fresh fruit. Best part is, you can just use whatever fruit is in season or that you have on hand.  I made it with some strawberries that were starting to go a little soft and fresh blueberries.  YUM!!!  Serve it with some vanilla greek yogurt, and it’s kind of like eating berry pie à la mode.  I actually ate the rest for my evening snack as a dessert.  The dark chocolate breakfast souffle is to die for.  It was so rich, I felt like I was eating chocolate cake for breakfast.  Minus the OMG-I-had-cake-for-breakfast guilt that hits you on the elliptical later that morning.  I omitted the honey in the glaze, and it was still plenty sweet.  I can’t wait to try the gingerbread breakfast souffle later this week.

Whatever it is about eggs, if must be working.  The muffin top is gone (and there’s still snow on the ground!!!).  A few more weeks of this, and I don’t care if it’s still winter in Minneosta.  I won’t be hiding my six-pack (currently a four-pack, but much improvement over February’s keg) under bulky sweaters.  My neighbors will just have to deal with me shoveling the driveway in my bikini (gotta get some use out of them since the summers are so short).

misc-bikini-beach-lady-sitting-enar-snowman

3 responses

  1. So pumped that you included the breakfast souffles on your site!!! Thank you so much 🙂

    2013/03/15 at 4:12 pm

    • Thanks for posting them. They are delicious! My daughter even asked me to make the dark chocolate one the other day for breakfast.

      2013/03/15 at 4:23 pm

  2. I really enjoy your blog & have nominated you for an award!

    http://runningunplugged.wordpress.com/2013/06/01/award-season-and-i-didnt-even-buy-a-dress/

    2013/06/01 at 1:20 pm

Leave a Reply

